History of the Inglis Grain Elevators National Historic Site
Four of the five Inglis Grain Elevators have been standing since 1922, the year the railway arrived at the newly created village of Inglis, Manitoba.
Rows of elevators were once a prominent feature in many larger communities across the Prairies. Now most of the elevators are gone and the longest original row left standing is at Inglis.
The elevators have endured thanks to the determination and dedication of the people in the Inglis area, especially our volunteer board the IAHC, who recognized early on that the elevators are an enduring symbol of the Prairies, agriculture and a way of life. Preservation and restoration of this site are a massive undertaking. The Inglis Area Heritage Committee, Government of Canada, and Province of Manitoba have all contributed to the restoration effort. All donations for maintenance and upkeep are greatly appreciated.