The N.M. Paterson Company Elevator was state-of-the-art when it was constructed in 1922, at the opposite end of the row to United Grain Growers’. It was owned by the Paterson company from 1922-1995, when the elevators stopped operating. This is the only elevator of the five with a dust collection system to reduce the risk of fire from explosive grain dust.
The Paterson Elevator, annex built in 1951, agent’s office, and the mechanical components common in standard-design elevators have been restored. The renovated interior includes, lighting, washroom facilities, informative signage and acts as the reception area, where visitors begin their interpretive experience, with the assistance of videos, pictures, signs, art, and artifacts.