Inglis Grain Elevators National Historic Site

Close this search box.

About the elevators

  • Five authentic historic grain elevators
  • Four of the five built in 1922
  • Recognized as a National Historic Site in 1996, the year following the end of their commercial life
  • Non profit community-owned facility, preserved by dedicated residents that formed the Inglis Area Heritage Committee in 1994 and incorporated in 1995
  • Unique, one of the last-standing rows of elevators

About the Location

  • Located on the Trans Canada (Crocus) Trail
  • Near the beautiful, picturesque Asessippi Provincial Park offering year-round recreation including skiing, golfing, boating, hunting and hiking
  • Accessible from the Yellowhead Highway
  • Set north to south along the abandoned CP rail line in the town of Inglis, offering stunning photo opportunities of prairie sunrises and sunsets

Amenities and displays

  • Interesting and interactive displays suitable for all ages
  • Fun for the whole family
  • Self-guided walking tours
  • Informative videos, pictures, signs and artifacts
  • Interpretive tours for schools and other groups
  • Tour guides offer visitors information about the development of prairie agriculture about the community of Inglis, the mechanics and function of an elevator and the restoration work in progress at the site
  • Gift Shop
  • Picnic Area